Inaugural Conference

Benjamin Kuehn

Hosted by the Malcolm Wiener Center for Social Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

Organized by Ilyana Kuziemko (Princeton), Atif Mian (Princeton), Suresh Naidu (Columbia), Dani Rodrik (Harvard), Stefanie Stantcheva (Harvard), and Gabriel Zucman (Berkeley)*

See below for conference recordings.


All times are Eastern Time (EDT / UTC -4).

Thursday, March 30

8:00-8:30Coffee and registration
8:30-8:45Welcome and opening remarks

Policy Panels 1

8:45-9:45Energy transition: What does new research teach us?
Mar Reguant (Northwestern), Joseph Shapiro (Berkeley), Stefanie Stantcheva (Harvard)
9:45-10:45Health policy: Diagnosing the ills of the U.S. health care system
Marcella Alsan (Harvard), Zack Cooper (Yale), Ilyana Kuziemko (Princeton)
11:00-12:00Taxing capital in a globalized world: What comes next?
Kimberly Clausing (UCLA), Juliana Londoño-Vélez (UCLA), Zach Liscow (OMB and Yale Law School), Gabriel Zucman (Berkeley)
12:00-1:00Has the resurgence in industrial policy put us on the right track, or is it leading us astray?
Pierre Azoulay (MIT), Erica Fuchs (CMU), Dani Rodrik (Harvard), Charles Sabel (Columbia)
1:00-2:00Lunch (on your own)
Policy Panels 2
2:00-3:00Access to and financing of higher education: How to democratize access to higher education?
Jesse Rothstein (Berkeley), David Deming (Harvard), Susan Dynarski (Harvard)
Economics Panels 1
3:15-4:15Labor market and wage dynamics after COVID
Sydnee Caldwell (Berkeley), Simon Jäger (IZA), Nathan Wilmers (MIT)
4:15-5:15Market structure and industrial organization: Do we need a new antitrust standard?
Steven Berry (Yale), Ioana Marinescu (UPenn), Tommaso Valletti (ICL)

Friday, March 31

Economics Panels 2

8:30-9:00Coffee and registration
9:00-10:00What policies can foster innovation and creativity in the 21st century?
Ufuk Akcigit (Chicago), Barbara Biasi (Yale), Petra Moser (NYU)
10:00-11:00Inflation and macro-stability: Do we need a new framework?
Atif Mian (Princeton), Anat Admati (Stanford), Gauti Eggertson (Brown), Wendy Carlin (UCL)
11:15-12:15Hyper-globalization is dead. What will replace it?
Jayati Ghosh (UMass), Henry Farrell (Johns Hopkins), and Michael Clemens (CGD), moderated by Dani Rodrik (Harvard)
12:15-1:30Lunch (on your own)
1:30-2:30The composition of the economics discipline: Who becomes an economist, and is it a good thing?
Zach Bleemer (Yale), Anna Stansbury (Sloan), Suresh Naidu (Columbia)

Blue-sky Panels

2:45-3:45Does philanthropy have a role in the evolution of academic economics?
William Janeway (Cambridge, Princeton, and Warburg Pincus), Brian Kettenring (Hewlett), Shayna Strom (Equitable Growth)
3:45-4:45Evidence and institutional redesign: How does (or how should) empirical evidence be mapped to policy?
Eva Vivalt (U Toronto), Maximilian Kasy (Harvard), Arin Dube (UMass Amherst)
4:45-5:30Closing discussion and next steps

[*] We thank the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation for financial support for the conference.

The Stone Program in Wealth Distribution, Inequality and Social Policy and the Reimagining the Economy project at the Malcolm Wiener Center for Social Policy are conference co-sponsors.